Book Review || A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab

21742172_1860037250689437_1034401695_o

Hello, hello dear readers in the attic. The ADSOM series need an introduction? Nope. Because almost the whole world know it. And if you don’t, shame on you. But no Mushu “shame on your cow” here.

And you should also know that Schwab has a second series set in the ADSOM’s universe. Are you ready? I’m, mostly because I’ve plenty of time to finish the whole trilogy before the second one.


Title: A Darker Shade of Magic
Author: Victoria Schwab
Series: A Darker Shade of Magic #1
Publihser: Tor Books
Pages: 400
Rating: ★★★

Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.
Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.
Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.
After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.
Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.


Kell makes his entrance since the first page of the book and the reader enter in his world without any kind of hesitation. He’s the first guide of the four Londons and Schwab shows this world composed onto levels and dimension, making the reader a bit dazzled at the start, or confused, or maybe even fascinated, but doesn’t offer so many explanations.
Be sure that I’m such a terrible and acid reader, because I need details. Always. And I needed them in that case too.

We have four Londons and every London has a color a type of magic. Or not-magic. But how these Londons were created? How they broke their passages and how they sealed the doomed Black London? I needed more. A lot more. As much as I needed some particulars over magic.
It was vague on the most important point, while Schwab works a lot on little details like languages and festivities, that surely enrich the world building and works well with the story’s dynamics.
Also the concept of a living magic is fascinating, but… I hope that Schwab is going to explain more in A Gathering of Shadows.

I’m some kind of bad bookworm who always have big protest against the most loved books of the community, and ADSOM isn’t an exception.

Where I’ve almost nothing to say about the plot – which seems okay and the introduction of something much more bigger – the characters didn’t interested as much as I was looking for.
I was waiting for Kell, Lila and Rhy to swept me of my feet. Result? Nope.

Maybe I didn’t see Rhy on the pages as much as I would have love to, while Kell and Lila – well, Kell left me with nothing. I followed him through his story but I cared for him? Another nope.
Lila, for as much as people love her, isn’t my favorite at all. I like some parts of her but other bothered me. Lila is supposed to be smart – before reading the book, all the people I met told me how much she’s amazing –  but when she faces magic the first time, I felt like her brain stopped computing. Yes, magic has power on people but the dangerous effect of it aren’t even started when Lila and Kell met each other, and so magic.

Yet I enjoyed the story and I’m pretty sure that I will experiment again the “second book is better”, something that happen to me quite often. I have hard times with falling in love with the characters.
A little note also should be written about the villains. And I will say just that for who have already read this novel: are you kidding me? That’s all?
I hope not. And I feel not.


img_1593

Did you read this  book? Do you like it or not? Favorite character and details?

What do you think about the world? Which part fascinated the most and which didn’t?

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review || A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab

  1. This was such an interesting review to read since everybody loves this book (myself included). I loved hearing a different opinion ❤! I agree weirdly enough with everything you said – guess it just didn’t bother me as much, therefore my higher rating 😂!! I think we should encurege different opinions!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

