Book Review || When I Cast Your Shadow by Sarah Porter

OMG, Camilla! Another review? Yes, sorry. That’s my bad. It’s that during the last days I felt really tired – I didn’t even read – and I really have to catch up with some reviews. Especially this one! I got and ARC of When I Cast Your Shadows and the archive date is reaaaaallly near. So, I need to publish this review because I must.

But don’t worry. I’m working on a really interesting post… but let me be mysterious.


33414246Title: When I Cast Your Shadow
Author: Sarah Porter
Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication date: 12 September
Pages: 384
Rating:★★★ 

A teenage girl calls her beloved older brother back from the grave with disastrous consequences.
Dashiell Bohnacker was hell on his family while he was alive. But it’s even worse now that he’s dead….
After her troubled older brother, Dashiell, dies of an overdose, sixteen-year-old Ruby is overcome by grief and longing. What she doesn’t know is that Dashiell’s ghost is using her nightly dreams of him as a way to possess her body and to persuade her twin brother, Everett, to submit to possession as well.
Dashiell tells Everett that he’s returned from the Land of the Dead to tie up loose ends, but he’s actually on the run from forces crueler and more powerful than anything the Bohnacker twins have ever imagined….
 

 


Eh. Really: eh. I’m not sure about this review. Never had this feeling? Let’s me sat that I was excepting this book to in a certain way, and well, it’s. But there’s the other side, the dark side. That made me sound really tragic and dramatic.
But When I Cast Your Shadow isn’t trying to give a good example. It talks about a dysfunctional family, extremely problematic, and a part of me wants to scream: “that’s not family!”. Yet, this doesn’t make the Bohnacker less truthful or real.

The family is wrong on so many levels, full of bias, ready to hurt itself every time it can. There’s nothing right.
The protagonists are problematic too. They’re walking flaws. And that made me reflect. Yes, we should read more about good examples in books, but that doesn’t make the Bohnacker less… valid? I don’t even know if this can be considered as the right term. They’re characters who grew up in bad place and that surely had its consequences on their mind and way to act.
Does it make them right? No. They’re still problematic. They’re quite stupid and cruel too.

I never saw the author trying to justify this kind of family. Or at least I didn’t get tangled inside it to feel like their relationship was romanticized. Plus, what makes the read more difficult are the POVs. Everything is filtered through the view of Ruby,Dashiell and Everett – and other people who aren’t all at that sane.

So, I basically spend all of the book immersed in a strange morbid book with a mix of interest and me screaming: “stops, you all have big problems!”
Basically, don’t open this book if you’re searching from flowers and rainbows.
On a scale from the better to the worst, Evrett is the one who save himself. He does any wrong things but at least he tries to save the situation.

Ruby is… full of illusions? Completely under Dashiell’s influence? Or maybe she knows what her so loved big brother is trying to do? Maybe deep inside her she knows it. But I don’t think so. Don’t expect Ruby to be your strong female protagonist because she’s terribly blind to whole world, to who is hurting her and to who is trying to save for real.
It was frustrating. Every time she was right there to change, capable to turn the events… she went right straight to: NOPE.

Dashiell has all my hate. And he deserves it. At a certain point of the book I asked myself: but the alive-Dashiell was trying to change? I had the feeling to have read some hints. Yet dead-Dashiell is a classic selfish asshole, who never care about hurting the people he says to care about. I really think that even if Aloysius is the bad guys of the book, Dashiell was a villain too.

For ending this review, I note of interest should be written about the Land of the Dead and Porter’s interpretation of it. It’s strange her crazy just like her way of writing promises. Anyway, When I Cast Your Shadow is the kind of book that makes me say two things at the same time: “try out this creepy and sick book” and “don’t open it”.
Not so sure about how much my opinion about is going to help you with it. I liked this one? Yes. Problematic issue? Yes again. Did I feel them as justified? Not really.

 


img_1593

Have you read this book or any other novel by Sarah Porter?  What did you think about it/them?  Did you read a book that left you with mixed opinion and indecisive feeling?

5 thoughts on “Book Review || When I Cast Your Shadow by Sarah Porter

  1. Arg mixed opinions are THE WORST. Like how does one even rate this book if it didn’t make you feel in any way. I’ve never heard of this book before but now I know I wouldn’t pick it up because I know it doesn’t interest me all that much. I hope you feel better soon and get back into reading <3!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The author sounds familiar actually, will.Have to check my Goodreads to check if I’ve read anything of hers. I usually enjoy flawed characters but unfortunately this family sounds quite the mess. I’m curious to see why he’s possessing her and why the other brother needs to be involved as well. There aren’t too many YA horror books around of late. Might add this one to read on a rainy day. Great review, really enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply

